Management Team

Mark Schafer, Ph.D.Mark Schafer, Ph.D.
President & Chief Technology Officer

Mark Schafer is a leading ultrasound industry expert. He holds 25 patents and has served in senior management roles for many early stage companies developing innovative ultrasonic devices.  Mark was most recently the CTO of Sound Surgical Technologies, a successful cosmetic ultrasound company.  He earned a BSEE from MIT, an MS in Acoustics from Penn State and a PhD in Biomedical Engineering from Drexel University.

Mark Steele
Executive Chairman

Mark D. Steele, Executive Chairman, is an experienced leader in cosmetic & dermatology consumer products, with over 30 years in commercialization. Most recently he was at Johnson & Johnson as President of The NeoStrata Company, which he sold to JNJ in 2016. He had run NeoStrata, a leader in physician dispensed and premium skin care, for over 10 years. Previously, he held senior positions at Pfizer, Warner-Lambert and Procter & Gamble. Mark holds a BS in Biology & Marketing from UConn, and an MBA from Syracuse.

Tessie McNeely, Ph.D.Tessie McNeely, Ph.D.
Vice President & Chief Science Officer

Tessie McNeely is an expert on infectious disease and biofilms.  She served in senior scientific roles at Merck for 17 years where she was recognized with four key R&D awards, generated 13 patents, and numerous scientific publications. She was the Principal Scientist for R&D of bacterial vaccines including a vaccine for acne. She earned a BA from Berea College, Ky, and a PhD from UNC at Chapel Hill, NC.

Ian Shipway
Senior Director of Operations

Ian Shipway has over 20 years of product development experience focused on medical technology.  He has a track record of leading multi-disciplined teams, advancing products through commercialization, and securing regulatory approvals.  His most recently served as Director of Systems Engineering at Neuronetics, a pioneer in neuro-stimulation devices.  Previously, Ian held senior engineering positions at Puricore and Animas (now JNJ).  He earned a BSEE from the University of Western Australia.


Adam DakinAdam Dakin
Director ActiveProtective and Co-founder Plexus Innovation Hub

Adam Dakin has served as CEO for numerous early stage, venture-backed medical device companies. He has secured over $50 million in early stage venture and strategic partner funding and led several M&A transactions.  Adam previously served as the CEO of Bioconnect Systems.  As former CEO of X-SITE Medical, he led the company’s sale to DataScope Corp. He also serves on the boards of Essential Medical, ActiveProtective Corp., and numerous academic commercialization committees.  He was awarded the PACT 2014 MedTech Leadership Award.  Adam earned a BSE from the Wharton School and an MBA from UCLA.

Chuck HadleyChuck Hadley
Executive Chairman

Chuck began his venture capital career with Hillman Medical Ventures, an early stage medical technology venture capital fund, which he co-founded in 1988. He led that firm’s medical device sector investing.  In 2007, he joined Cardinal Partners as a General Partner, retiring in 2013.

Chuck also serves as Executive Chairman at ActiveProtective Technologies, board chairman of Bioconnect Systems, and a director at Prescription Advisory Services & Technology.  He earned MBA and JD degrees from Stanford University.

Michael WellsMichael Wells
Managing Director
Princeton Biopharma Capital Partners, LLC

Michael has over 20 years of experience in the healthcare industry with a successful track record of forming and growing new enterprises.  He founded Princeton Biopharma Capital Partners, LLC is a private equity firm.  Prior to Princeton Biopharma, he was the founder and CEO of Aton Pharma, Inc., acquired by Valeant Pharmaceuticals for $330 million.  He was a recipient of the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award in 2009.

Michael also serves on the boards of Covis Pharma S.à.r.l, Curaseal, and Princeton Biopharma.  He holds both a Bachelor’s and Master’s of Science from the University of Pittsburgh and a MBA from The Wharton School.

Medical Advisory Board

James Leyden, MD
Emeritus Professor of Dermatology, University of Pennsylvania Health System
Guy Webster, MD
Clinical Professor of Dermatology, Jefferson Medical College
Diane Thiboutot, MD
Professor of Dermatology, Assoc. Dean of Clinical and Translational Research Education, Penn State College of Medicine
Richard Fried, MD, Ph.D.
Clinical Director at Yardley Dermatology


If you would like to support our innovative efforts in making patient’s lives better, please contact us.